• Pages

  • Posts by Category

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

What does Yoga mean to me

Freedom. Freedom of mind, freedom from thoughts, freedom of expression and freedom from the daily, often not so healthy, environment we live in. To me Yoga is a way to escape, only to try and find oneself.

Japa Mala

I started Yoga not too long ago, out of curiosity. It was something that I had been wanting to try for a while yet never really took the time ,or found the ambition to actually give it a shot. If you ask me, I would say that the book Eat, Pray, Love was really the tipping point (another great book – totally unrelated to Yoga though), that lead me into a Yoga Center for the first time. The reason I walked into a Yoga Center that Saturday wasn’t even to go to a class, or get information about one for that matter, it was to get a Japa Mala. In her book Eat, Pray, Love, Elizabeth Gilbert talks about Japa Malas or (Japa Malae?), and for some strange reason the only thing I could think about was… I need to have one!

Here I am, a little over two months after walking into a Yoga Center for the first time. I recently completed a 4 week basic to intermediate class and try to  attend two Yoga classes on average per week (and also trying to do my own practice at home). All I can say is that the before and “after” (or “in progress” would perhaps be a better description, given that I hope to be on this Yogic path for the rest of my life) is quite incredible.

If you’ve thought about giving Yoga a try, stop thinking and act! Sign up for a class and give it a try – what is the worst that can happen? You start laughing from the back of the studio while everybody is doing Downward Dog? I would be highly surprised if you don’t feel great (for lack of a better word) once you’re through with the session.

Namaste!

Leave a Reply

